DiamondBacks Hockey Club (DBHC) is located at the Tasmanian Hockey Centre, New Town, and is a proud and active Tasmanian sporting club.

The club provides opportunities for people to be physically active and enjoy the world class facilities of the Tasmanian Hockey Centre. Being part of a team and club is a great way to learn social and life skills including accepted behaviour and sportsmanship.

DBHC has a rich history, highlighted by an ever-growing strength and diversity, which now caters for men, women, boys and girls:

  • In 1950 the Catholic Hockey club (men's) was formed
  • In 1965 the Wellington Hockey club (women's) was formed
  • In 1969 the Catholic Hockey club became the Prince of Wales Hockey club
  • In 1975 the Prince of Wales Women's Hockey club was formed
  • In 1983 the Prince of Wales Women's Hockey club merged with the Prince of Wales Hockey club
  • In 1986 the Prince of Wales Hockey club and the Wellington Hockey club merged to become the Prince of Wales Wellington Hockey Club
  • In 2013 the Prince of Wales Wellington Hockey Club changed its name to the DiamondBacks Hockey Club.

DBHC has a membership of over 300 and as a member of Hockey Tasmania competes in the Southern Hockey League. The club has a history going back over 60 years and offers the opportunity to participate in club teams in all divisions from under 9's to seniors and masters in both men's and women's leagues. The club offers a positive environment for both youth and adults and it prides itself on being family friendly and community orientated, while promoting player and club loyalty.

Current membership includes over 180 senior players, over 110 junior players and 33 life members and associate members. DBHC continues to produce skilled hockey players, coaches and officials and provides a platform for members to achieve personal goals including pathways for national level representative hockey.

DiamondBacks players and officials from all age groups represent Tasmania in national championships held around the country each year. In recent years several players have been selected to represent Australia, including the following:

2017 Australian Representatives

Joshua Beltz

Jack Welch

Hayden Beltz

2018 Australian Representatives

Joshua Beltz - Kookaburras squad for Commonwealth Games

Belinda Page, Louise Sale, Stuart Beltz, Felicity Boucher - Masters World Cup, Spain, July 2018